healthy living, mental health, wellbeing

Dream Big! … show up for you!

I love coming across people that just stop you in your tracks and make you think about cross sections in life… and this happened to me recently when “someone” got me to stop… and question how I talk to myself. Sounds strange, right?… well, it happened whilst I was attending an event at the GoodnessMe Box wholefoods-market and the “someone” was the one and only Melissa Ambrosini.!

If you’re not captured by her beautiful smile and welcoming eyes in the first few seconds, then you would undoubtedly be drawn to her outgoing, expressive, gregarious and straight-talking nature.! Melissa is the author of the best-selling book “Mastering Your Mean Girl” which she was promoting at the event but… being the keynote speaker, an entrepreneur, self-love teacher and just full of enthusiasm and exuberance, you just knew that Mel was going to provide everyone there with so much more than the opportunity to just buy a signed copy of her book.!

Her initial WOW.! factor hit me straight in the face… wholeheartedly stopping me in my tracks and I could not help but want to get to know more about Mel and all she had to offer.! Okay, I must confess that I didn’t know of her before the event but after meeting her, I was certainly going to take full advantage of the opportunity to know more.!

She was good enough to give us an overview of how she had become the person she is today, which I read more about later in her book and on her website  (yes… of course I bought a copy.!) and I would seriously encourage you all to read about her! … It gives a fascinating insight into her story, her nature and her complete passion for life.

She is one straight-talking, ass-kicking empowering women… and the book offers up so much that it would be useful to anyone. It was very clear to see that Mel had gained her experience and knowledge through healing herself… rebuilding stronger and better and she just wants to share this with the world and she’s done it in a way that makes total sense and it’s so easy.!

Anyway, getting back to Mel’s keynote speech at the GoodnessMe Box event… I want to share Mel’s four step process and the key messages – as I understood them.

blog-ma

 

The initial spot light was placed on “goals” and how these can be used to take you away from the present moment. Now, those of you that have been regular readers of my blog will know that I am a massive advocate of goals and use them all the time, so this opening gambit had me a little perplexed… but hooked. So, I sat there, on the edge of my seat, totally intrigued, with an open mind and eagerly waited to hear all that followed… I allowed myself to be captivated.

This is my interpretation of the plan:

blog-ma

I told you… simple, huh?! and the straight talking, ass-kicking part I told you about? …Well, “WE” (yeah, you and I) need to take responsibility and make shit happen. The key message here was:

SHOW UP FOR YOU

Could it get any clearer or easier?! So, Inspired, with Mel’s book in hand, I decided that this was my “everything happens for a reason” moment.! I wanted NO.! needed in fact, to step out of my comfort zone and start this plan… Yup, fear has been my driving force of late, my ideas have been scaring the bejesus out of me a little. But, after hearing Mel, it was clear that my inner “mean girl” had been controlling me, hell.! I realised that she’s been my default setting for far too long.! I’ve feared the unknown, thinking I knew what was going to happen – every imaginable worst possible outcome of course – but how can I truly KNOW.??.!!!

title-ma

I’ve been putting SO much expectation on outcomes and looking SO far ahead that I’ve really never allowed myself to even get started… all through a sense, no, a fear of failure.!! It’s now time to go in a different direction, I need to let life unfold in whichever ways its meant to be.! Okay, this might mean that I stand out, be different, vulnerable even and without a doubt that’s not going to be easy… freaking scary in fact.! … but it needs to be done…

First thing,  I need to (re)consider is how I set and use goals, so watch this space… it’s something I will be exploring and working out for me, for sure.! As for a plan… you bet I’ve taken steps in the right direction… I’ve written one and already started to ACT upon it!

I think today, in this moment, I’ve totally nailed the “I SHOWED UP FOR ME!” don’t you.?!

So, guys…the final question … “What’s going to make YOU show up for YOU today.?!” – freaking good question, huh!

signature

10 thoughts on “Dream Big! … show up for you!”

  1. I love this post. Feels like there were Ah Ha moments all over the place. I’m showing up for myself, by taking a step back from my blog and live life in the now. Thanks so much for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading Clare

      l think we are in tune … true soul sisters ! Great reading your blog today … how strange both having these moments … loved the attached blogs too … great read

      Here’s to the future, huh 🙌

      Like

  2. So sorry to hear about your struggles Sarah, but it’s great that you seem to be on the right track now! I’m going to keep an eye out for this book at the library, thanks heaps for the review.. you inspire us all 🙂 xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading Hannah … l think we all have an inner mean girl feeding us negative chatter … the hard bit is learning to put her on mute 😉… Mel has some great strategies, so l just wanted to share my experience …

      Thanks for your kind words, gorgeous x

      Like

      1. Fascinating stuff Sarah, thank you for sharing!

        Very inspiring… mastering that inner critic is so difficult for most of us, I think it’s something we all need to be accountable for, for the betterment of ourselves.

        Certainly the theories Melissa and yourself have highlighted has provoked a lot of thinking with myself that’s for sure 🙂

        Claire xx

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for reading Claire!

    It’s very liberating, empowering and certainly one of the best ways to better ourselves ! …. especially if outside influences fuel our mean girl … what would be better than having that sense of freedom?!

    Thinking of you …

    Sarah

    Like

  4. Oh my gosh I totally relate (I’m not surprised though that we have similar experiences around this stuff!) to putting too much expectation on outcomes and looking too far ahead that we don’t start at all. I think I spend so much time trying to figure out what the outcomes should even be that I find myself completely stumped in the now! A lovely post, thank-you xx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you for reading ! 😊

    It’s definitely a move in the right direction, with doors opening, it’s quite bizarre when you let things just be and live in the moment. I would imagine similar to your simplier living. Loved your last blog post!

    Like

  6. What a great post. Something really similar struck a chord with me in Sophia Amoruso’s book Girl Boss. She says that if she knew how big her business would have become she never would have embarked on it, because she could never have imagined how she would be able to manage it all. I love the idea of just showing up for you today. For me today, that means working on my blog, because every small piece of work I do will lead to something bigger. Plus go out for lunch with some friends, because it feeds the soul like nothing else. Have a great day Sarah!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

